# Perth Youth Orchestra

### **Executive Committee**

### **Honorary President**

Andrew Mitchell (01738) 628039

### **Honorary Vice-President**

Sheena McNaughton

### **Honorary Treasurer**

Neil Curr (01738) 633271

### Secretary

Hazel McKinnon

20, Spoutwells Road, Scone, Perth PH2 6RW. (01738) 551162

### Members

Gwen Doe, Margaret Keppie, Maureen Malecki, John Scott, Alan Stewart, Bette Strachan

### **Orchestra Representatives**

Murray MacKinnon, Clair Strachan

### **Tutor Representative**

Richard Fullbrook

### Conductor

D. Eoin Bennet

### **Instrumental Tutors**

George Annan (Brass), Richard Fullbrook (Percussion), Jennifer King (Double Bass), Audrey Mattner and Fiona Ballantyne (2nd Violins), Lorna McGovern (Violas), Allan Young (1st Violins), Debbie Clunie ('Cello), Eileen Waterston & Philip Alexander (Woodwind)



# PERTH YOUTH ORCHESTRA

Wednesday 1st September, 1999

Central Halls, Tollcross, Edinburgh

# Lunchtime Concert

### PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE

Conducted by Richard Fullbrook

**Background** 

GARY STEWART

**Rondo for Five** 

BY DEL BORGO

WOODWIND ENSEMBLE

Conducted by Eileen Waterston

**Woodwind Octet** 

Stefan de Haan

Grave: Allegretto Comodo: Andante: Moderato

STRING QUARTET

Coached by Allan Young

String Quartet in C Major

Amadeus Mozart

Allegro: Adagio: Presto

**BRASS ENSEMBLE** 

Conducted by George Annan

**Musket, Fife and Drum** 

JIM PARKER, ARR. HINGLEY

The Way We Were

Marvin Hamlisch, arr. Golland Soloist: Clair Strachan

**St Louis Blues** 

HANDY, ARR. FERNIE

# PERTH YOUTH ORCHESTRA

Leader: Morag Young Conducted by Mr D. Eoin Bennet

FLUTE	TROMBONE	VIOLIN 1 (cont)
Kimberley Boyle	John Scott	Andrew Lindsay
Jennifer Keppie	Callum Strachan	Rhoda Simpson
John Moisey	Ruth Davidson	Douglas Smith

BASS TROMBONE
OBOE Claire Donnachie

Michael O'Donnell
Gordon Tait

**TUBA** Jason Blyth

CLARINET
Ewan Armstrong
Sarah Duncan
Melanie Hall
Andrew Mann

ason Blyth

PERCUSSION
Alastair Edmondston

BASSOON Roger Duthie
Jenny Handford Paul Judge
Catriona Smith Billy Strachan
Gary Stewart

VIOLA
Sarah Andrews
Margaret Mitchell
Heather McAulay
Anna Steven

VIOLIN 2

Clare Scott

Anna Renfrew

Esther McKav

Sophie Ross

Annelie Graf

Jaclyn Petterson

Jane Slater

Stephanie Robertson

Lynsey Stewart

Laura Armstrong

HORN

Joni Mallet

Emma Megaughin

Darek Malecki VIOLIN 1 Miriam Doe Morag Young Rowan Hellier Murray Mackinnon Fiona Low Matthew Dover Elizabeth Ross Linsay McArthur Lesley McDonald Andrew Oswald TRUMPET Fiona Hicks Clair Strachan Katherine Burke Alison Low

CELLO Amy Little Laura Penny Catherine McLellan

Lesley McDonald
Andrew Oswald
Fiona Hicks
Lindsay Perera
Katherine Burke
Claire Docherty
John Mitchell
Joanna Ross
DOUBLE BASS
Lindsay Perera
Hazel Bell
Dylan Harrier
Douglas Smith
Victoria Brennan

# **OVERTURE NABUCCO**

Verdi

**MATINEES MUSICALES** Op.24

March : Nocturne : Waltz : Pantomime : Moto Perpetuo

BRITTEN

CONCERTO No.1 Op.33 FOR CELLO AND ORCHESTRA

1st Movement Soloist : Amy Little

SAINT-SAENS

CONCERTINO Op. 107 FOR FLUTE AND ORCHESTRA

Soloist: Kimberley Boyle

CHAMINADE

THE PLANETS

Mars- The Bringer of War Venus- The Bringer of Peace Jupiter- The Bringer of Jollity

Holst

INTERVAL

WALTZ FROM "EUGEN ONEGIN"

TSCHAIKOWSKY

**FINLANDIA** Op.26 No.7

SIBELIUS

# **CHAMBER ENSEMBLES**

**Percussion Ensemble** 

Roger Duthie, Alastair Edmondston, Paul Judge, Gary Stewart, Billy Strachan

**Woodwind Ensemble** 

Flutes Kimberley Boyle, Jennifer Keppie,

John Moisey

Oboes Michael O'Donnell, Gordon Tait

Clarinets Ewan Armstrong, Sarah Duncan,

Melanie Hall, Andrew Mann

Bassoons Jenny Handford, Catriona Smith

**String Quartet** 

Violin 1 Morag Young
Violin 2 Murray Mackinnon

Viola Anna Steven 'cello Amy Little

**Brass Ensemble** 

Trumpets Clair Strachan, Alison Low,

Jonni Mallett, Emma Megaughin

Horns Darek Malecki, Rowan Hellier,

Miriam Doe Fiona Low, Elizabeth Ross

Trombones John Scott, Callum Strachan,

Claire Donnachie

Bass Trombone Ruth Davidson.

Tuba Jason Blyth

# Welcome

Perth Youth Orchestra was founded on 7th June, 1962 by two Perth musiciansthe late Louis Barnett and the late John Davie- with the support of a small number of parents, and gave its first concert on 25th June, in the 1964, under the baton of Louis Barnet, its first conductor.

In the early years of its existence the orchestra was completely independent with only some assistance from the Education Authority, but since 1969, with the appointment of its present conductor, it has come under the control of the local education authority, as one of the senior Central Groups, rehearsing weekly throughout the winter months in the Perth Music Centre, and attending an annual week's Music Camp at Aberfoyle.

Beyond its winter season, the orchestra regularly performs during the Perth Festival of the Arts, the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, and in a variety of summer concerts at home and abroad. The orchestra has completed several successful concert tours abroad, most recently to Spain in 1998 where it took part in the International Festival of Youth Orchestras, at Valencia.

Perth and Kinross Council and the Gannochy Trust are our major sponsors, helping to develop the talent of young orchestral players in Perth and surrounding district. We also enjoy the support of our players' families, past and present, through their patron subscriptions and by their support at concerts and fund raising events.

Tonight, Amy Little and Kimberley Boyle, both from Crieff, continue a long tradition in the orchestra which invites the members to audition for a solo role. An even longer tradition has been the caring leadership of our conductor, Mr D. Eoin Bennet whose thirty years of service have inspired hundreds of young players-many of whom have entered upon their own professional careers in music.

Today's concerts are particularly important engagements within our diary. PYO has performed at the Festival of British Youth Orchestras in every one of the twenty years since the event began. We are honoured to maintain this unique link with a festival which has done so much to foster the development of our country's young musicians.

Andrew Mitchell Honorary President 1999

Milit